top of page

The Inaugural Relentless Musical Award Celebration

On February 27, 2023, a celebration in honor of The 2022 Relentless Musical Award-Winners, Shayok Misha Chowdhury and Laura Grill Jaye for their musical How the White Girl Got Her Spots and Other 90s Trivia, was held at Theatre Row. The full list of winners and honored playwrights is here. Max Yu was also honored for his 2019 Relentless Award Winning play, Nightwatch.

John Patrick Shanley paid tribute to Philip Seymour Hoffman, for whom the Relentless Award is dedicated. Sam Hollander and Marc Lawrence spoke about Adam Schlesinger, who inspired this year's musical award. Artistic Director David Bar Katz and Program Manager Lynn Spector presented the Relentless Award finalists and semifinalists, and each finalist performed a song from their musical. 2019 Relentless Award Winner Max Yu presented the 2022 Relentless Musical Award to Shayok Misha Chowdhury and Laura Grill Jaye, who performed selections from their winning musical.


The evening concluded with performances by Clyde and Gracie Lawrence, who performed "That Thing You Do," written by Adam Schlesinger, and Surf Party USA, who performed "Hackensack," written by Adam Schlesinger and Chris Collingwood.


Photos by Jamiya Wilson.

bottom of page