Who We Are


In honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman, who relentlessly sought out truth in his work and demanded the same from his collaborators, The American Playwriting Foundation has been established to make annual grants to new American plays.

Artistic Director

David Bar Katz

Relentless Award Selection Committee

Eric Bogosian

Thomas Bradshaw

David Bar Katz

Laura Marks

Lynn Nottage

Jonathan Marc Sherman

Lucy Thurber

2021 Musical Selection Committee

Rachel Bloom

David Javerbaum

Sam Hollander

James Iha

David Bar Katz

Stephin Merritt

(more to be announced)

Artistic Advisors

Scott Elliott

Robert Falls

Mandy Greenfield

Ethan Hawke

Dan Klores

Dominique Morisseau

Gregory Mosher

Austin Pendleton

David Quinn

Yul Vázquez

Founding Chairman of the Board 

Jeffrey Horwitz

2019 Relentless Subcommittee


The American Playwriting Foundation supports our sisters and brothers who are relentlessly fighting for justice and equality. #BlackLivesMatter

James Baldwin: 

After all you’re accusing a captive population who’ve been robbed of everything of looting. It’s obscene.


Esquire magazine: 

How can we get the black people to cool it?


James Baldwin: 

It is not for us to cool it.


Esquire magazine:

But aren’t you the ones who are getting hurt the most?


James Baldwin: 

No, we are only the ones who are dying fastest.


—James Baldwin, playwright, novelist, essayist, poet, and activist. July, 1968.